In Panamá: Bocas Del Toro

map-bocas-del-toro-panama.w654

Bocas del Toro

Image from: <http://img.wonderhowto.com/img/17/45/63404860843263/0/map-bocas-del-toro-panama.w654.jpg&gt;

We went to the Caribbean – to Bocas del Toro on Isla Colón to be exact.  One of the best parts of the trip from Boquete to Bocas was the water taxi from Almirante; we practically flew over the emerald water.  Bocas is known for its laid back atmosphere and water adventures.

 

panama-map

Panamá  – Bocas del Toro in the NW

Image from: <http://geology.com/world/panama-map.gif&gt;.

biking Barry

Biking Barry in Bocas – no gears!

You can see some of the highlights.

Aloha & Amor y Luz, Renée

Tags:

About reneeriley

Our blog was begun as a way to share our experiences in China. From August 2010 to July 2011, my husband, Barry Kristel, and I were at our University of Hawaii Maui College sister school, Zhejiang Agriculture and Forestry University in Lin'an, China, a city considered rural because it has only 500,000 people! We had a wonderful time. Then in February 2012, we returned to teach this time at our other sister school, Shanghai Normal University, in a city of over 21 million people. We've made many discoveries. Did you know that now Chinese girls, at least the ones who go to university, for the most part feel they are luckier than the Chinese boys? Did you know that Shanghai saved over 20,000 European Jews during WWII? Do you know how Chinese university students would deal with problems that come up in Dear Abby letters? What's it like to be on the Great Wall of China? Do you know how many Chinese girls had their feet bound and why? And we have recipes from many of the places we've visited. Among others, you can find instructions on how to fry cicadas from one of my ZAFU students and how to make chocolate-Kahlua waffles from my brother Mike in Gainesville. You can also look back to our earliest entry to see what we experienced in Oaxaca, Mexico, in 2006 during the mainly peaceful six months of protest until the Mexican government sent in the troops. Between our stays in China, Barry and I have been on the Mainland U.S. visiting family, friends and Servas hosts as we traveled home to Maui. We share those experiences too. Welcome to our blog! Aloha and Zài Jiàn, Renée and Barry

2 responses to “In Panamá: Bocas Del Toro”

  1. Rosita says :

    I said you to visit San Blas, do you remember? And I’m so glad that you liked it so much! 😉 one day, when I visit Panama, I’ll visit it, without doubt! It’s the other side of caribbean, the Caribbean (almost) untouched by man, with virgin nature & paradisiacal beaches, without all that hedonism that anyone can see in Jamaica & Bahamas. I did an internet test who said me that I’ll live in Anguilla, a Caribbean country who appears to be attractive to me & pretty relaxing, even on its nickname: “tranquility wrapped in blue.” How not love it? Am I predestined to live in Anguilla? Who knows. I like to think yes, but let destiny decides it 😀 here on Brazil, we have some pieces of caribbean: maragogi, Maceió & São Miguel dos Milagres. Maragogi is la crème de la crème, with five-stars all-inclusive beachfronts resorts, but, unfortunately, they’re pretty expensive to us, but we have other good options of hotels in Maragogi. São Miguel dos Milagres is another side of Alagoas state, without all-inclusive hotels (as far as I know), and only a beautiful nature, with beaches of white sand & crystalline water. The typical scenario who comes to our minds when we imagine a tropical paradise. Maceió is the capital of Alagoas state, and, although it have so many beautiful beaches, you don’t have to focus only on beaches when visiting Maceió, because it have another attractions, as Sorveteria Bali (Bali Icecreams), who’s knew to be one of the best ice creams factorys of Brazil & shoppings and interesting historical points. You may like to know those places. alagoas state is a must on your bucket list, if you pretend to visit Brazil! 🙂 and, at that next week, I’m going to adopt a BSD, as I said you ✌🏼️ I believe that we should help those who’re in need, independently of its specie. When I travel, I ALWAYS feed stray dogs & cats. I’ll be a doctor of HUMANS, but I’ll always rescue & save unwanted dogs. Dogs are living divinities, and those who mistreat dogs have a bad karma by mistreating a good soul, a creature sent by God to teach us what’s unbreakable loyalty & unconditional love. There’s a debate about what could occur if we extinguish mosquitos of planet. Weh, as you know, I’m strictly against to killing any sentient creature, but if the creature isn’t utile to the ecosystem & is causing serious problems to mankind, I think we need to humanely control its population, by spaying/neutering it. OK, we can’t spay/neuter a mosquito, but we can extinguish it of URBAN SETTLEMENTS & teach people to no letting pounded water, so mosquitos will not reproduce there 😉 as you know, I had dengue twice & chikungunya, but the problem is: i still can feel chikungunya on my joints, luckily on a less intense manner, always that I become exhausted or when I’m sick, even if it’s just a mild flu. Oh, and intense cold can activate those pains. I’m only talking about it because I was traveling abroad to a country in which is colder than tropical Equatorial climate of my city. And was raining a lot when we arrived. Luckily it wasn’t snowing. sometimes, I feel that I barely cant move me, and I call those episodes of joint pain as being “chikungunya relapses”, for lack of a better term. Mommy says that I’m still with chikungunya sequelae, which I think it’s pretty odd, specially when you remember that I caught it 2 years ago, in 2014. but I read some delates on internet about people who caught it and still feel pain SIX YEARS AFTER catching it! I hope that I’ll not be one of them. And here on Brazil zika’s spreading a lot, specially on Northeast, where’re located Maceió, Maragogi & Sao Miguel dos Milagres, in Alagoas state. So, if you want to visit it, I’ll reccomend you to use as much mosquito repellent as possible, to prevent both chikungunya & zika virus and dengue also, so, you can enjoy an unforgettable trip here on Brazil 😉 do you visited another Caribbean country who isn’t Panama? If yes, what? And do you reccomend others to visit it?

    • reneeriley says :

      Hi Rosita: We did make it to the Caribbean – and loved the water and relaxed atmosphere. Thank you for the recommendation. We didn’t get to the San Blas because they are far from where we were (and expensive), but we still have those islands on our list. Bocas del Toro, I think, gave us a good introduction. We are slow travelers and tend to be spontaneous – and stay where we are if we like it. We were in Panamá for a month and now in Costa Rica; we like them both. We also plan to come back next year since Alaska Airlines now makes it affordable for us to get to San Jose from Maui. We’d also like to travel in South America.

      I’m sorry that you are still suffering from the chikungunya virus. Those mosquito carried viruses are a concern. We put on mosquito repellant in the day and night and keep our arms and legs covered. So far, we’ve been lucky.

      Good luck with your search for a good place for you. I know you will help the animals wherever you are. Aloha, Renée

Leave a Reply

