Thought for the Day: Listen

“I should have stopped doing the laundry and looked at him and listened,” says Kathleen Blanchard,  mom of J.P., a student from Gunn High in Silicon Valley.

Her son is one of the several teenage suicides from this elite area.  “There is so much you don’t know and you are never going to know. . . We are not going to have ‘the answer.’ We will just do our best.”

From: http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2015/12/the-silicon-valley-suicides/413140/

Talk with and listen to those you meet and those you love.

Aloha, Renée

Tags: ,

About reneeriley

Our blog was begun as a way to share our experiences in China. From August 2010 to July 2011, my husband, Barry Kristel, and I were at our University of Hawaii Maui College sister school, Zhejiang Agriculture and Forestry University in Lin'an, China, a city considered rural because it has only 500,000 people! We had a wonderful time. Then in February 2012, we returned to teach this time at our other sister school, Shanghai Normal University, in a city of over 21 million people. We've made many discoveries. Did you know that now Chinese girls, at least the ones who go to university, for the most part feel they are luckier than the Chinese boys? Did you know that Shanghai saved over 20,000 European Jews during WWII? Do you know how Chinese university students would deal with problems that come up in Dear Abby letters? What's it like to be on the Great Wall of China? Do you know how many Chinese girls had their feet bound and why? And we have recipes from many of the places we've visited. Among others, you can find instructions on how to fry cicadas from one of my ZAFU students and how to make chocolate-Kahlua waffles from my brother Mike in Gainesville. You can also look back to our earliest entry to see what we experienced in Oaxaca, Mexico, in 2006 during the mainly peaceful six months of protest until the Mexican government sent in the troops. Between our stays in China, Barry and I have been on the Mainland U.S. visiting family, friends and Servas hosts as we traveled home to Maui. We share those experiences too. Welcome to our blog! Aloha and Zài Jiàn, Renée and Barry

3 responses to “Thought for the Day: Listen”

  1. Rosita says :

    Today I saw some dogs available for adoption, and, obviously, I felt tempted to take one to home, as the dog lover I am, but, sadly I couldn’t, because I’m not at my city neither at my state 😢I’m going to a trip around Europe (Portugal, France and England), so, I can’t adopt at this moment, due to my travels, but when I return to my city, I’ll adopt an unwanted four-legged comrade. AltHough I never was interested in knowing Europe, I think that the idea of visiting the Old World don’t sound too bad at all 😉 but I’m planning to visit other states of my country and travel to Punta Cana or Cancún. It sounds both fun & relaxing to me!!!! 😎 Although daddy wants to visit Macchu Picchu and Lima, I don’t have so much interest in knowing Peru at this moment. I prefer knowing all the northwest coast of Brazil, who’s pretty idyllic, and visit some Caribbean countries, as I said. Last day, I did an internet test and it showed that I should live at Bayahibe, a city on Dominican Republic. Am I predestined to live in Bayahibe? Who knows. But it certainly is on my dream’s travel destination. I also want to know Bonito, Fernando de Noronha, Maceió and Maragogi (those places that I listed here are pieces of paradise on Brazil), Punta Cana, Cancún, Tobago, Maldives (and do you know that they’re going to end? How sad! A paradise like Maldives would never end, but, maybe, we’re only going to valuate more the environment when tragedies like that start to occurs), Philippines, Bali & Gili islands, Australia and French Polynesia. Those places are on my travel dream’s list 😉 and what about you? What’re your travel dream’s destinations?

  2. Rosita says :

    As I explained to the typical BSDs appearance, I also have to tell you that, unfortunately, they can be potentially rabies carriers, and, consequently, initiate a rabies outbreak, as it occurred in some Brazilian cities, as Corumbá, in Mato Grosso do Sul. To talk the true, luckily, dogs aren’t major rabies carriers nowadays, unless by Corumbá example. Nowadays bats and cattle are the major victims of rabies in Brazil, who can cause an enormous injury to our economy, and, if you consider the fact that we’re facing an economical crisis here, it could be catastrophic, in both economic and public health. My city is rabies-free since 2008, but we can’t say the same of other cities, sadly. Although rabies is 100% lethal, it’s 100% preventable also. And Brazilian government, despite the fact of being bad administrated, pay a lot attention to both human and animal rabies prevention, who’s good, and, although we don’t have eradicated rabies from our territory, we’re doing efforts to catch up our target 😀 and I had heard that Hawaii is rabies-free, it proceeds? Do yours have heard that canine rabies outbreak who’s occurring in Bali started with an infected dog brought from a neighbor island, probably Flores, and, before that, Bali was rabies-free? Yes, yes, the “Island of Gods”, is, now, “Island of Rabid Dogs”, and, worst of all, the outbreak started in 2008 (coincidently the year that my city became rabies-free), and, with that, it still during EIGHT YEARS of unnecessary canine and human deaths due to that painful, but totally preventable disease, and it don’t achieved the target of eliminating the disease of its territory, due to a hypocritical government politic of killing healthy dogs instead of vaccinating them. How sad! 😭 But I hope that both BARC and BAWA (two Balinese NGOs who’re helping Bali dogs and cats) will teach balinese government an important lesson: never hurting a sentient creature, because bad karma will follow them. And do yours have the fear of rabies entering in Hawaii by any infected animal of a neighboring state or country, as it occurred in Bali?

  3. Rosita says :

    As I explained to the typical BSDs appearance, I also have to tell you that, unfortunately, they can be potentially rabies carriers, and, consequently, initiate a rabies outbreak, as it occurred in some Brazilian cities, as Corumbá, in Mato Grosso do Sul. To talk the true, luckily, dogs aren’t major rabies carriers nowadays, unless by Corumbá example. Nowadays bats and cattle are the major victims of rabies in Brazil, who can cause an enormous injury to our economy, and, if you consider the fact that we’re facing an economical crisis here, it could be catastrophic, in both economic and public health. My city is rabies-free since 2008, but we can’t say the same of other cities, sadly. Although rabies is 100% lethal, it’s 100% preventable also. And Brazilian government, despite the fact of being bad administrated, pay a lot attention to both human and animal rabies prevention, who’s good, and, although we don’t have eradicated rabies from our territory, we’re doing efforts to catch up our target 😀 and I had heard that Hawaii is rabies-free, it proceeds? Do yours have heard that canine rabies outbreak who’s occurring in Bali started with an infected dog brought from a neighbor island, probably Flores, and, before that, Bali was rabies-free? Yes, yes, the “Island of Gods”, is, now, “Island of Rabid Dogs”, and, worst of all, the outbreak started in 2008 (coincidently the year that my city became rabies-free), and, with that, it still during EIGHT YEARS of unnecessary canine and human deaths due to that painful, but totally preventable disease, and it don’t achieved the target of eliminating the disease of its territory, due to a hypocritical government politic of killing healthy dogs instead of vaccinating them. And, the worst: dogs can’t leave Bali legally, what means that they can’t receive proper vet treatment neither can be adopted at other countries, until the outbreak calm down. How sad! 😭 My beloved Bali isn’t from the island of gods, but yes from Jakarta, who’s rabies-free. But I feel so bad by those poor dogs that don’t have another choice: most of them are going to die of a horrifying way, some of them are being poisoned by strychnine and others will die of hydrophobia, and, I have to tell, both ways are cruel and inhuman. Luckily, I hope that both BARC and BAWA (two Balinese NGOs who’re helping Bali dogs and cats) will teach balinese government an important lesson: never hurting a sentient creature, because bad karma will follow them. No, I’m not being revengeful, it’s just natural order of things, and the same is true for good: when you practice good acts, goodness will return to you 😉 so, we have to try to be good persons at this life. Weh, as I said, my city’s rabies-free since 2008, but we’re still fearful that rabies can arrive from any neighboring city or island, because it wasn’t yet eradicated of the state. And do yours have the fear of rabies entering in Hawaii by any infected animal of a neighboring state or country, as it occurred in Bali?

Leave a Reply

