Thought for the Day: If you change . . .

If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours.
When you judge another, you do not define them, you define yourself.
– Dr. Wayne Dyer – author, self-help, inspirational speaker  (b. May 10, 1940 in Detroit; d. Aug. 29, 2015 on Maui).
He lives on in his helpful words and ideas; he reminds us that we need to look for the light within each person.

Aloha, Renée

Images from: https://www.google.com/#q=Dr.+Wayne+dyer

Inspirational self-help speaker and author

Inspirational self-help speaker and author

Tags: , ,

About reneeriley

Our blog was begun as a way to share our experiences in China. From August 2010 to July 2011, my husband, Barry Kristel, and I were at our University of Hawaii Maui College sister school, Zhejiang Agriculture and Forestry University in Lin'an, China, a city considered rural because it has only 500,000 people! We had a wonderful time. Then in February 2012, we returned to teach this time at our other sister school, Shanghai Normal University, in a city of over 21 million people. We've made many discoveries. Did you know that now Chinese girls, at least the ones who go to university, for the most part feel they are luckier than the Chinese boys? Did you know that Shanghai saved over 20,000 European Jews during WWII? Do you know how Chinese university students would deal with problems that come up in Dear Abby letters? What's it like to be on the Great Wall of China? Do you know how many Chinese girls had their feet bound and why? And we have recipes from many of the places we've visited. Among others, you can find instructions on how to fry cicadas from one of my ZAFU students and how to make chocolate-Kahlua waffles from my brother Mike in Gainesville. You can also look back to our earliest entry to see what we experienced in Oaxaca, Mexico, in 2006 during the mainly peaceful six months of protest until the Mexican government sent in the troops. Between our stays in China, Barry and I have been on the Mainland U.S. visiting family, friends and Servas hosts as we traveled home to Maui. We share those experiences too. Welcome to our blog! Aloha and Zài Jiàn, Renée and Barry

9 responses to “Thought for the Day: If you change . . .”

  1. Rosita says :

    I have three another dogs: Cleo (a 3-years-old Yorkshire terrier), Bali (a 10-months-old Kintamani Dog) and Djoko (a 5-months-old Belgium Malinois), but I also had a black pug when I was a child, his name was Black, and my beloved Black was a good dog, but he died last year due to veterinary negligence. Black was covered in mange and with serious renal diseases, and negligence wouldn’t help. The vet who killed Black have a bad karma, because killing is against life, and God don’t will recompense assassins. Black was buried under a palm tree, near to a local school, but, sincerely, I would prefer to cremate his body than bury him. Now Black can be died, but still live on our memories, with his funny smile. Black died like a hero, a portrait of millions of dogs and humans around world, neglected by those persons who have to stay helping, not killing. I’m not vegetarian, but I don’t eat bovine meat neither pork meat, because I don’t like how it tastes neither animal cruelty. Specially after a dog died on my arms, wrapped on a sarong. My dog. I hate negligence and I hate animal cruelty. I would be a doctor, one day, but I learned a lesson which was happened with Black: don’t neglect those who’re needing medical attendance. If you can’t make nothing, call some person who can help, but don’t neglect the person. I learn much more with dogs than I would learn in one day at the classroom. My dogs are my best teachers, because they teach me what’s unconditional love, patience, never will judge me by my acts and still trusting on me when I lost my confidence on humanity. I prefer dogs than persons. Sincerely, I think I was a dog on my past life hahaha but, serious, my definition of perfect world would be a world in which ALL of us practice some dogs qualities, as unconditional love and tolerance, the world would be a much better place to live, without wars and epidemics, only world peace and harmony, and we can live as in biblical Paradise (or the paradise of your religion professes), all of us would have a good karma and God will recompense us by our good acts. This would be my definition of a perfect world.

    • reneeriley says :

      Hi Rosita: I agree – dogs naturally have qualities that we aspire to have: unconditional love, loyalty, patience . . . And I can see that Black lives on in your life too. Now Cleo, Bali, and Djoko are paying good attention to you, I’m sure. Get well soon. Aloha, Renee

  2. Rosita says :

    Thank you, my dear! You can’t be more correct 🙂 and do you think that world’s peace is possible?

    • reneeriley says :

      Peace is possible. We need to work on our own lives. If we can learn to be peaceful, then our leaders can learn how too. Recently, I read an article (that I can’t find now) about how our morals are improving: in the U.S., for instance, women couldn’t vote until 1920. Now, gay marriage is accepted as no big deal many places. We are more conscious of native rights. Our moral hearts are growing. Many people, like you, are very compassionate about animal rights. As a world population, our morals are expanding to respect others in ways that were unthinkable 100 years ago. Of course, our moral growth has no end in sight. What do think? Aloha, Renee

  3. Rosita says :

    Yes, yes, it’s true. If STOP civil wars, hungry and epidemies, we WOULDN’T have a reason to talk the world peace isn’t possible. Oh, a world without diseases, violence and hungry, with all humans and animals coexisting in harmony, without fear and traumas! It would be the perfect world for all of us, an utopia, maybe… But if all of us work for that dream, it can turn reality, one day…. 😀

  4. reneeriley says :

    Yes, Rosita: And your commitment to taking care of dogs and other animals is part of that better future. Aloha, Renee

  5. Rosita says :

    Thank you, my dear! I hope that one day all peoples in world will live in peace and harmony, without wars, stupid assassinates, hungry and disease. I hope that one day we would live like Adam and Eva at the Biblical Paradise, but without the capital sin, only peace and duality.

  6. Rosita says :

    Yes, I hope so too. What’s your opinion about KBDs (Kintamani Bali Dog)? 🙂

Leave a Reply

