Travel Tip: Park Free with FlightCar

FlightCar isn't in Asia yet, but it could be coming

FlightCar isn’t in Asia yet, but it could be coming

In some ways, traveling gets easier (and sometimes cheaper) all the time.  For instance, according to the June 2015 issue of International Travel News: A Celebration of Travel, you can possibly rent out your car while you are traveling – and not have to pay for airport parking.

So far, FlightCar lots, which offer that service, are  located at several U.S. airports: Boston Logan, Philadelphia, Washington Dulles, Baltimore, Austin, Dallas/Ft. Worth, Denver, Seattle-Tacoma, Portland, Oakland, San Francisco, San Jose, Los Angeles, and San Diego.

Your car must be less than 14 years old, have fewer than 150,000 miles, and have a book value of less than $60,000. Even it your car isn’t rented, parking at the airport will still be free.

“On any car rented, FlightCar carries a $1,000,000 insurance policy covering bodily injury, damage or vandalism to the vehicle, and any third-party property damaged by the car.  FlightCar also reimburses for costs of repairing mechanical damage due to negligence or poor driving by the renter” (62).

Renters must meet specific qualifications such as have no major violations on their driving records and be at least 25 years old.

For more information, to list your car, or rent a car at a reasonable rate, go to www.flightcar.com.  Let me know if you use FlightCar and how you like it.  Maybe, we will have it on Maui in the future.

Happy traveling.

Aloha, Renée

Tags: ,

About reneeriley

Our blog was begun as a way to share our experiences in China. From August 2010 to July 2011, my husband, Barry Kristel, and I were at our University of Hawaii Maui College sister school, Zhejiang Agriculture and Forestry University in Lin'an, China, a city considered rural because it has only 500,000 people! We had a wonderful time. Then in February 2012, we returned to teach this time at our other sister school, Shanghai Normal University, in a city of over 21 million people. We've made many discoveries. Did you know that now Chinese girls, at least the ones who go to university, for the most part feel they are luckier than the Chinese boys? Did you know that Shanghai saved over 20,000 European Jews during WWII? Do you know how Chinese university students would deal with problems that come up in Dear Abby letters? What's it like to be on the Great Wall of China? Do you know how many Chinese girls had their feet bound and why? And we have recipes from many of the places we've visited. Among others, you can find instructions on how to fry cicadas from one of my ZAFU students and how to make chocolate-Kahlua waffles from my brother Mike in Gainesville. You can also look back to our earliest entry to see what we experienced in Oaxaca, Mexico, in 2006 during the mainly peaceful six months of protest until the Mexican government sent in the troops. Between our stays in China, Barry and I have been on the Mainland U.S. visiting family, friends and Servas hosts as we traveled home to Maui. We share those experiences too. Welcome to our blog! Aloha and Zài Jiàn, Renée and Barry

8 responses to “Travel Tip: Park Free with FlightCar”

  1. Rosita says :

    Yes, yes, it’s true. I would like to move to Maceió or Vitória, when I end university. And I will take my dogs, of course! 🙂 I wouldn’t like to go to the Heaven if dogs can’t go to the Heaven. My dogs are my safe haven, they helped me in so much situations, I don’t have words to describe what I feel about dogs. Cleo, my yorkshire terrier helped me so much last year, when I lost my grandpa to the lung cancer, this miserable disease! I hate the tobacco/cigarette industry! And Cleo also helped me when I caught chikungunya last year and dengue recently, in July of that year. ❤️Sincerely, I prefer dogs than persons. And I would like to have another dog. Mommy’s planning buy a rare chocolate or biewer yorkshire terrier 😀 and I agree with that, because I’m a dog hoarder hahaha 😂😂😂😂 but, serious, I like rare dogs – I have one of the most rare dog breeds on the world: a white female KBD (Kintamani Bali Dog) called Bali. The KBD (Kintamani Bali Dog) is a dog breed from Sukawana Village, Bali island, on Indonesia, but very rare outside Indonesia. And I also have a brown with a back muzzle malinois shepherd (or simply mali) called Djoko (you can read it as “Joko”). I like rare dogs, but I also like street dogs, because they have so much endurance. 🌸💖🐾 and what do you think about rare dog breeds?

    • reneeriley says :

      Hi Rosita – I’m sorry you were sick – both chikungunya and dengue must make you feel terrible. While we were in Bali, a friend from Chicago who had come to visit us promptly got dengue. She slept for eight days! She’s good now, but it is a terrible disease. Cleo must be a wonderful dog – and companion. She probably kept you company when everyone was busy during the day. Dogs can be good companions whether pure bred or street dog, I think. My family has always gotten dogs from an animal shelter. Because Barry and I travel a lot, we don’t have a dog now, but our son and his girlfriend live downstairs, so we see Nalu (which means “wave” in Hawaiian); he is a brown terrier mix who loves to surf, and Kailani (which means “Water heaven” in Hawaiian); she is a black lab and greyhound mix; at the dog park, people call her “Lightening” because she loves to run and is very fast. We also have a young cat, “Sarah”; she also is a rescue animal. I like your plan to move to Macelo or Vitoria – and take your dogs with you. You’re right about the tobacco industry too; my dad died of lung cancer. I think it’s great that you have rare breed dogs. Dogs make great friends since they listen, are loyal, and fun. Enjoy your dogs today. Aloha, Renee

  2. Rosita says :

    Yes you’re correct. I had dengue recently, and I was feeling so much body and headache, WITHOUT fever or rash. It was strange. When I caught chikungunya, I DON’T had the rash, but I had high fever during two days and FIVE MONTHS of joint pains. I also had WRONG DIAGNOSES, so, it was a very, very bad situation. And you’re correct about Cleo and Bali, they are my safe havens. They help me on very difficult moments. I know that adopt dogs is a common practice in USA, but it still rare here in Brazil, maybe due to the absence of incentives, I think. But it’s a beautiful act, because you’re SAVING a life, at the opposite of the tobacco industry, who DESTROY millions of lives all years, and receive millions of dollars with it! I don’t have words to describe my anger and my sadness about it! 😓 the tobacco industry receive millions of dollars every year, but all it costed millions of lives. The employers of tobacco industry have a bad karma, because they destroys millions of lives every year. Say NO to the tobacco! 🚭 stay healthy and DON’T use drugs or tobacco, please😊 make it if you love your live.

    • reneeriley says :

      Hi Rosita: Both dengue and chikungunya – how awful! Dengue, I learned from my friend having it, is known as the “break bone” disease because it is so painful. But I read that chikungunya is even more painful! Those darn mosquitoes. So I think you needed lots of comforting – and Cleo and Bali were there for you. Besides helping people who are sick, dogs are great for children. They make wonderful friends who listen (and never tell on you). We all need loving dogs in our lives.

      I have always said NO to tobacco because I saw what it did to my dad. 😦 Drugs just tend to make people non-productive and spaced out.

      You also bring up the importance of good work. Creating cigarettes, making bombs – and all those industries that make products that are harmful to people can’t be good for those who work for the companies. It does make a difference what we do.

      What are you studying in college? I was an English teacher for most of my working career – and I highly recommend the field. The pay may not be the highest, but it is very satisfying to have an impact on students. I loved teaching. And you get great vacations – and so are able to travel.

      It’s interesting for me to know that Brazil doesn’t have humane societies that adopt out dogs and cats (and sometimes rabbits and turtles). A lot of people even in the U.S. love to have purebred animals for their good predictable qualities (that you can’t count on with mixed breeds). But most animals – regardless of their breed – respond to love and care. Maybe you will start a place for abandoned animals in Brazil. Ours in the U.S. are non-profit organizations that accept donations.

      Now in the U.S., many people are paying attention to their nutritional choices. We have GMOs – Monsanto 😦 does research on Maui and other Hawaiian Islands! More people are shopping local and going to their neighborhood farmer for their vegetables and fruits. We have a really high obesity rate – even in children. So people are becoming more conscious of the need to change. What about Brazil? Do many people eat fast foods and sugar and other unhealthy choices?

      I’ve never been to Brazil, but maybe I need to come.

      I’m looking forward to hearing from you again. Aloha, your friend, Renee

  3. Rosita says :

    Oh, ok. Here in Brazil we have a high indice of obesity , but it’s all a question of keep healthy. 😀 I’m NOT an obese girl and I don’t eat bovine meat, because I respect life.

  4. Rosita says :

    I’m thin, but I’m healthy. I lost 3kg when I caught dengue, but it wasn’t the worst: I lost 7kg ON A WEEK when I caught chikungunya. And I have to agree with you, dengue pain isn’t worst than chikungunya pain. When I caught chikungunya, the joint pains were too intense that I WASN’T able to write! When I caught chikungunya, I also felt intense joint pains during FIVE MONTHS, it looked like my bones are breaking, and I think when I caught dengue I wasn’t feeling too bad, if comparated with chikungunya. Here on Brazil, we have animal shelters, but people abandon animals and they’re hard adopted, due to the little interess on mixed breed dogs and cats. It’s sad, I know. Here on Brazil, we have a high indice of obesity in animals and humans. Malnutrition diminished, but obesity is being more and more high now in the big cities and some cities of Brazilian interior, and have some public politics against it, as information on TV, newspaper and computer, but some persons simply don’t import with it, and become more and more fat, until it causes health problems for them. I’m NOT an obese girl, but I know that it can improve the risk of being sick and obesity can make you feel sad about your appearance. Obesity is a serious health problem, but I think anorexia and bulimia are also serious health problems.

  5. KM1 chevrolet beat diesel| says :

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this website, becausе i
    աish for enjoyment, ѕince this this web paǥe conations trulƴ fastidious funny material too.

Leave a Reply

