Shànghăi Normal University: Fengxian Students and Campus

Fengxian campus, Shànghăi Normal University students

SNU Fengxian campus: big buildings and spacious campus

This term, I got to teach at my second UHMC sister school, Shanghai Normal University.  My “English Writing for Tourism Management” classes were only nine weeks long and on the  SNU Fengxian campus,  40 minutes by direct bus from the main campus (and our apartment) in the Xuhui area of SW Shanghai.  As I did last year, I found the students friendly and interesting.  However, I didn’t get to know the SNU students as well as my ZAFU students, many of whom I had known for 11 months and had interacted with often as we lived on campus.

As with many schools in China now, the main campus is for the junior and senior students; the freshmen and sophomores are far from the city and its distractions.

SNU Fengxian campus: Teaching Buildings 4 & 5 are where I had my classes

My English Writing for Tourism Management students

More of my English Writing for Tourism Management students

In all, my classes had 73 students, usually in two separate groups

On the bus to the Fengxian campus.  Guest speakers — SNU students who had just come back from Maui and their internship at Makena Resort: me, Stacy, Elaine, Jasmine, and Yvonne

The SNU/Maui interns were guest speakers.   Barry too encouraged my students: “With your English skills, you can go anywhere in the world.”

Spring was late in coming this year, but on the day I gave my finals, the cherry blossoms were in full bloom.

SNU Fengxian campus teaching building through the cherry blossoms

View from the second floor

Paipai, Jane, Even, Ami, and Bob–some of my wonderful SNU students

The classes have ended.  So it is goodbye to Shanghai Normal University for this year– another wonderful experience in China.

Aloha and zaì jiàn, Renée

Cherry blossoms at SNU Fengxian campus

Tags: ,

About reneeriley

Our blog was begun as a way to share our experiences in China. From August 2010 to July 2011, my husband, Barry Kristel, and I were at our University of Hawaii Maui College sister school, Zhejiang Agriculture and Forestry University in Lin'an, China, a city considered rural because it has only 500,000 people! We had a wonderful time. Then in February 2012, we returned to teach this time at our other sister school, Shanghai Normal University, in a city of over 21 million people. We've made many discoveries. Did you know that now Chinese girls, at least the ones who go to university, for the most part feel they are luckier than the Chinese boys? Did you know that Shanghai saved over 20,000 European Jews during WWII? Do you know how Chinese university students would deal with problems that come up in Dear Abby letters? What's it like to be on the Great Wall of China? Do you know how many Chinese girls had their feet bound and why? And we have recipes from many of the places we've visited. Among others, you can find instructions on how to fry cicadas from one of my ZAFU students and how to make chocolate-Kahlua waffles from my brother Mike in Gainesville. You can also look back to our earliest entry to see what we experienced in Oaxaca, Mexico, in 2006 during the mainly peaceful six months of protest until the Mexican government sent in the troops. Between our stays in China, Barry and I have been on the Mainland U.S. visiting family, friends and Servas hosts as we traveled home to Maui. We share those experiences too. Welcome to our blog! Aloha and Zài Jiàn, Renée and Barry

2 responses to “Shànghăi Normal University: Fengxian Students and Campus”

  1. Pat Rouse says :

    Hi Renee, I’m finally visiting in Brooklyn and the cherry blossoms are here as well, were here, the first week of my visit before drenching rains last Sunday

    I’ve been baby holding and helping out keeping meals and dishes and dust kitties under control, cooking with both Adley and Amanda separately as their sous chef for dinners. Its fun walking ourselves and baby Ava along the streets lined with brownstones, dogwoods,and spring flowers int the tiny courtyards in front of each building.

    I have a few more days here, going to museum of art and design at Columbus circle this morning to get out by myself and give parents some alone time after almost two weeks of visiting. My ex was here two days last week and that went well. We had a running game of ipod scrabble, pass the ipod back and forth, to provide diversion from serious topics of conversation.

    Are you going to Bali again or where next?

    Love, Pat

  2. reneeriley says :

    Hi Pat: Your visit sounds wonderful. There is nothing like a baby to make city walks in the spring even more fantastic than usual. Congratulations to Amanda and Adley. We leave from Shanghai on May 13 to visit friends and family in St. Louis and beyond. We now plan to be back on Maui about the middle of July (in time for John’s birthday). Hi to Daniel and the Maui crew. Aloha & zai jian, Renee

Leave a Reply

